logo Web



Events at the CRM

PDF version

CRM-SSC prize awarding

CRM > Prizes> CRM-SSC prize > CRM-SSC prize awarding

CRM-SSC Prize Awarding [ français ]

(see detailed menu on the right)

The Centre de recherches mathématiques (CRM) and the Statistical Society of Canada (SSC) solicit nominations for the CRM-SSC Prize, which is awarded in recognition of a statistical scientist’s professional accomplishments in research during the first fifteen years after earning a doctorate.

The award, which includes a $ 3,000 cash prize, is bestowed at most once a year upon a Canadian citizen or permanent resident of Canada whose research was carried out primarily in Canada. Recipients of the award, since its creation in 1999, have been Christian Genest (Laval), Robert J. Tibshirani (Stanford), Colleen D. Cutler (Waterloo), Larry A. Wasserman (Carnegie Mellon), Charmaine B. Dean (Simon Fraser), Randy R. Sitter (Simon Fraser), Jiahua Chen (Waterloo), Jeffrey S. Rosenthal (Toronto), Richard J. Cook (Waterloo), Paul Gustafson (UBC), Hugh Chipman (Acadia), Grace Y. Yi (Waterloo), Edward Susko (Dalhousie), Changbao Wu (Waterloo), Derek Bingham (Simon Fraser), Fang Yao (University of Toronto), Matías Salibán-Barrera (University of British Columbia), Radu Craiu (University of Toronto), and Lei Sun (University of Toronto). 
In 2018 eligibility will be limited to candidates who received their PhD (or equivalent degree) in the year 2003 or subsequently. The CRM-SSC Prize committee may exceptionally consider candidates who have received their degree prior but very near to the year 2003, if it can be demonstrated that special circumstances, such as parental leaves or other leaves of absence from work, delayed professional achievements. Current membership in the SSC is not a prerequisite. The nominations will be examined by an Advisory Committee consisting of five members, three of whom are appointed by the SSC and two by the CRM. The committee is chaired by one of the two CRM representatives.

Nominations, including at least three letters of support, an up-to-date curriculum vitæ (with a list of publications) and a suggested citation to accompany the award, should be submitted to the CRM before February 1, 2018. As files are not carried over from one year to the next, nominations must be renewed each year.

Please submit nomination files by email to the attention of the Director of the CRM at nomination@crm.umontreal.ca.

Update - 01/26/16, 14:06:15
Prix - Menu
The CRM created and administers, either alone or jointly, four of the eight major national prizes in the mathematical sciences, namely:  the CRM–Fields–PIMS Prize,  the Prize for Theoretical Physics awarded in collaboration with the Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP), the Prize for young researchers in Statistics awarded jointly with the Statistical Society of Canada (SSC), and the CRM Aisenstadt Prize awarded to rising young Canadian stars, selected by CRM's Scientific Advisory Panel. The CRM has invested enormously in time, effort and in its own resources, to propel leading Canadian scientists into the spotlight, giving them international recognition when they most need it. 

CRM–Fields–PIMS Prize